Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Time to Kill

The clouds are rolling back in and I really don't want it to rain again. The sun is just so relaxing. Following an exceptionally crappy weekend is a very slow week. I have this ridiculous teacher- parent potluck Friday morning. I have to prepare a lesson and create materials for a half hour class. My director is being unreasonable about every aspect of this. I have had to practice 3 times with my classes while the kids fall behind on their regular books and I have had to change my materials twice. I don't have time or patience for her. Ugh. Oh and she wants me to stay late AGAIN today to show her... I don't need to practice. English is the only language I know!
I stayed up too late last night catching insomnia from Busta... lol. I know it isn't really contagious but I like to think I have someone to blame for being tired right now. Tired and checking out the new fish tank- or aquarium, tried explaining to my co teacher that a fish tank was small and an aquarium is big. She just looked at the fish and snails inside and said they looked delicious. Hahaha. Korea. I think I've failed to mention that in front of many restaurants that serve fish there are tanks lining the front of the place. I don't know what any of the fish are called but I am sure they don't hang around in their tanks for long. There are even trucks that come with fresh salt water to replace the old water in the tanks. The pet store came to our school and set up the tank lol... only here I guess.
Still no health insurance. In my tired grumpy state it is agitating me more than it should. I should have skipped the gym and just slept in today. I got paid which was good.. going to send it back to Canada where it is safe and sound. North Korea isn't happy about us laying it into them. I am just happy I'm in Gwangju and not Soul... although a trip to the DMZ would be pretty gutsy and adrenaline filled right about now. Just kidding I am not going to go.
Man if a war actually does break out and I have to go home I will be so pissed. For now I am just following the Korean suit. This has been happening forever, nothing will come of it so just go on with life. I can handle that no problem!
I have to make sure that all my students have tons of materials today so I don't have to do a lot of shouting.
It's 1:30 kids should be arriving any second. I need a nap!!

Maybe I'll write about a human rights issue next time... I'll research a topic and get on it. There are a ton of orphans here...
Peace, Love and Harmony

Sunday, May 16, 2010

Mornings in Gwangju

This morning on my way home, while trying desperately to hail a cab, a white lady and I mean lady, (I learned later she was in her early 50s), approached me and said hello. I said good morning and stopped to chat. She was part of TN English and was training at the Gwangju location until eventually she transfers to another city. She told me she is from Oregon, her name is Terri and that she had only been in the city for a couple of days. I asked if she wanted to grab a coffee. She happily agreed and we found a Paris Baguette, she bought me breakfast and we got to talking.
Terri is the mother of four successful children ranging ages early 20s up intill early 30s I believe. Before coming to Korea she was a Boy's Youth Correctional Officer and had gone back to get her master's. She is in Korean school limbo right now, TN English doesn't have an actual space for her until one of their teacher's leaves in 2 weeks. I was impressed about how cool she was about the situation, if that had been me I would have been livid. The fun part about meeting her was that it gave me a little glimpse back 2 months to when I didn't even know how to say thank-you in Korean. I've come a ways now!
I don't know why she is here, at a little over 5o. Maybe she was widowed or divorced. She made no mention of a boyfriend, ex, or obviously husband. She said this was a life long desire- I hope when I'm that old I can still muster the energy and courage to leave my children and peace to a different country. At any rate we chatted for about an hour, exchange contact info and I was back home in a flash ready for sunning on the roof.
I had a pretty easy going weekend. Friday I received some gifts from my kids at my school because it was Teacher's Day on Saturday. I got flowers, lip gloss, food, vitamins and a really nice moisturizer set (I later learned that Molly had received the same one lol, Korean's must think we have really dry skin). I brought all that back home with me did some laundry and then went out with some friends in the Sangmu area for dinner, had one of my favs, Galbi and then headed downtown to Bubble for some drinks.
Saturday I climbed a little of the mountain again. Fliss and Molly joined Holli and I. I think Molly really enjoyed it but Fliss was bored until we got to the top and then got, what I am assuming was a little like runner's high and became giddy, and was bubbly throughout the descent. Saturday night I went to see Robin Hood the new Russel Crowe flick, it was alright, maybe a little too long. Was in bed early Saturday night and that's about it. Definitely one of the slowest weekends to date but without a doubt needed.
This week coming up is another short week. Buddha's b-day is on friday and we get it off. There has been word of Everland an amusement park not unlike Wonderland. I would love to do it- I love roller-coasters and apparently there are some wicked ones there.
Molly has started planning for japan. It's going to cost about 1200 dollars to tour around for 10ish days but that's with transportation. I am totally psyched and am happy I can go with Molly because travelling there is like a dream come true for her. I'm not going to say it's the same for me but it is obviously an opportunity not worth passing up. I mean it's Japan!!
I still don't have health insurance at work and I didn't get my international driver's license this weekend. I am hoping this will all come together this week. I really want to get my teeth cleaned. A check up wouldn't hurt either! Also laser hair removal... ughh there I go again spending all my money before I even have it. My only saving grace is just sending it home, putting it in a high interest savings account and forgetting about it lol. I think when winter comes around it will be even easier to save- less things to do? Hibernate... I don't know haha. I'm the worst!!!

Love you all-
Dom out.

Sunday, May 9, 2010

Soju, Soju

Holli and I are just hanging out in my tiny apartment waiting to go to see Iron Man 2. Holli and I climbed a mountain yesterday- it was awesome, last night was a friend's birthday and we ate outside at a restaurant that had grass!!
This is Holli's impromptu list of weird Korea

- matching couple outfits (shirts, pants, sometimes even shoes)
- matching underwear
- men carry women's purses around
- you can only buy huge things of toilet paper
- you can find condoms beside q-tips (lol no family planning aisle)
- korean girls can wear anything i.e. paper bags and still look cute
- no city street garbage cans
- old ladies tell her that she has a small face
- really scared of the sun- when they go out they're covered head to toe
- food keeps getting better and better

anyway check out my facebook photos - my mountain adventure is up and it is amazing.
out!