Monday, March 15, 2010

Anyong Haseyo (hello)

First day of class was a little insane. The school has only been open a month and by the way things went today, it was painfully obvious. I taught 5 classes today.They run for about 45 minutes. I found teaching the 3-7 years olds almost impossible, they are the ones that I took pictures of today. The rest of the kids were responsive but still very, very hard to get through to. Except for Issaac, he was my shinning light of the day. Haha. He was my most advanced student and working with him was really fun.
The program itself is pretty good so far from what I can tell. It works on the premise that there are 8 different ways to learn and that children need to be taught from as many different angles as possible. That's enough for now. I am teaching physed tomorrow. Dodge ball, check! I teach Yippee red (kindergarten), Manners, P.E. International Day, Blocks, Board Games and First Steps in Phonics and Intermediate Engish. My life rocks. I have tons of downtime, lunch and snacks are taken care of by the school, I get to wear slippers and whatever else I want and the kids love me. The only down side right now is that I am still jett-lagged and feel like I haven't has a good night's sleep in over a week. Oh well, it will pass. What else can I tell you? Tomorrow night I am going to do my first solo adventure. Get in a cab and go downtown to the YMCA to play cards with white people. I am hoping it won't be too expensive. I made dumplings and broccoli for dinner. Yes, went grocery shopping! I sorta figured out where exactly I live in the Country of South Korea, I had to get the province, district and city down. It's something like that. My cognitive map sucks. Actually for day 3 I don't think that is too brutal. I just have to add friends' areas to it so I can build my social networking empire! Muahaha. Also this a video from my walk home. The actual amount of apartment buildings here is alarming. There are no houses in Korea, just apartments. haha, at least it seems that way

That is just a drop in the bucket. There has to be tens of thousands of apartment buildings in Chan-Nam. More to come later. I have dishes to do!

Lovelovelove

3 comments:

  1. Hey Girl.. Your neighborhood is desolate! I haven't even seen open space like that in Gwangju, haha. Anyways, FYI, we're meeting at YWCA but totally playing cards at a bar nearby.. I mean, who hangs out at a YWCA? Haha.

    ReplyDelete
  2. hahaha... my bad.
    i'll make sure to correct that one!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. It doesn't look like somewhere you want to walk after dark....sorry, typical statement from a concerned uncle....Love U, Uncle Joe
    PS- this will be an experience of a lifetime!
    Have Fun!!!

    ReplyDelete