Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Chalk One Up for the Good Guys

Whoa... these last couple of days have been pretty productive. With Dori's help I have gained permission from my director to go to Seoul Friday morning!!
As it turns out I do need confirmation from the embassy for my license. I'm obviously excited to have finally won one and get a definite answer from my director but it is going to cost a little chunk.
From Gwangju to Seoul is about 3 hours on a bus, on a plane it's 40 minutes... do you see where I am going with this? The bus costs about 22 dollars each way and a one way flight is around 65 dollars. I wanted to fly round trip but there are only two airlines that fly domestic in Korea and their schedules suck. What I will probably have to do it get on the 5am bus get to Seoul around 8 - subway, (a dollar) or cab (which will cost about 10 dollars), to the embassy and then subway or cab to the airport in Gimpo and fly back to Gwangju.
My biggest problem is that the only flight that works with my schedule is at 10 20am. Which leaves me with about an hour window at the embassy. I really wanna fly back because 6 hours on a bus is killer but I just don't think it's going to happen now that I am writing this all down.
If I skip out on the flight and save the 40 dollars I can just use that for the convenience of cabs in Seoul I suppose. I'm still going to have to be at the bus station for 10 30 but buses leave every 20 minutes. The worst I can be is 20 minutes late for my afternoon classes.
Wow, thanks for hanging in there while I rationalized that one! The bus is pretty well the most comfortable ride anyway, so I can just sleep!
This is my budget
- bus fair: 40 dollars
- cab fair: 30 dollars
- embassy charge: 55 dollars
I really want this license now, it's become a bit of an obsession! Plus, it's kind of nice having something special to come back home with. I mean really, how many people can say they have a Korean license. Not that I need more excuses for bragging rights. Just kiddinngg!!! Haha.

In other news I am almost positive I won't be backpacking in Japan with Molly as my director is adamant on having my vacation week following hers. This totally blows but I can't get upset over something I have absolutely no control over. I tired everything but still won't give up until the very end! So I have been looking at cruises as a back up... which is kind of more my style. Their is one for about 700 dollars that leaves from Busan and docks at 4 places in Japan and you can do little day trips and then get back to the boat. I am sure their will be other foreigners on whichever cruise I choose so hopefully I can make friends with them. Otherwise it will be a completely solo operation.
My co worker is also going to Manila for 4 days so I might go with her. I don't know South East Asia in August might be really hot, and I don't know how hardcore she is. I would need hotel rooms and A/C.
I have options which is the main point I am trying to get across here. lol.

I have been gymming like crazy and getting back into some serious p90x shape. I have nothing else to do! This weekend we might go camping... I hope so I could use some beach action.
I need some GO GO GADGET Umbrella arms because Gwangju is PMSing and can't decide day to day whether it wants to rain or just be simply beautiful. I hate cumbersome objects in my purse and, as a minimalist at heart, umbrellas are the worst!

I think that's it really. I'll probably do a video blog during my Seoul excursion and then upload it. Pray that is goes off without a hitch!

Dom out.

No comments:

Post a Comment